Friday, September 30, 2016

Auroville Governing Board from 2012

Governing Board | Auroville › contents
Sep 10, 2016 
The Governing Board consists of seven members to be nominated by the Central Government from amongst persons who have,
  • rendered valuable service to Auroville;
  • dedicated themselves to the ideals of life-long education synthesis of material and spiritual researches or human unity;
  • contributed significantly in activities that are being pursued or are envisaged to be promoted in Auroville, including activities relating to the environment, afforestation, arts and crafts, industry, agriculture, humanities, sciences and integral yoga;
and of two representatives of the Central Government itself.
The members, who do not live in Auroville, hold office for a period of 4 years. The Governing Board meets at least twice a year in Auroville.
The general management of the affairs of the Foundation is vested in the Governing Board. Its task is to promote the ideals of Auroville, to review and approve basic policies and programmes, to secure the proper management of all properties, to prepare the master plan and co-ordinate fundraising. Most of these functions are executed in consultation with the Residents' Assembly.

The present members

The Central Government, vide Ministry of Human Resource Development’s notification No.F.27-9/2012-UU dated 29 October 2012, and dated 19 February 2013, nominated the 9-member Governing Board including its Chairman for a third term of four years with the following members: 


Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) & former President, Indian Council for Cultural Relations


Dr Aster Mira Patel
Member, The Residents’ Assembly, Auroville Foundation, Auroville

Shri Balkrishna Vithaldas Doshi
Director, Vastu Shilpa Foundation, Ahmedabad

Dr Mallika Sarabhai
Director, Darpana Academy of Performing Arts, Ahmedabad

Ms Ameeta Mehra
Director, The Gnostic Centre, Gurgaon

Shri Y.S.V.S Murthy (new member Notified on 19.02.2013)
Secretary, Sri Aurobindo Centre, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

Shri Yogendra Tripathi
Ex-officio, Ministry of Human Resource Development

Shri Amit Khare                                                     
Representative of Central Government

The Central Government conferred on Dr Karan Singh the personal rank of Cabinet Minister for the period he holds the office of Chairman. 

    Former members include:

  • Mr. Gajapati Maharaja Dibyasingha Deb, Maharaja of Puri;
  • Dr. M.S. Swaminathan (ex-chairman), Chairman M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation;

  • Dr. Malini Parthasarathy
    Director, The Hindu Centre for Politics and Public Policy  

  • Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan, former Academic Director of the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts;
  • Mrs. Bilkees Latif, Chairman Andra Pradesh Social Welfare Board;
  • Late Mr. Ajoy Bagchi, Director People's Commission on Environment and Development (PCED);
  • Mr. N. Krishnan, former member of the executive board of UNESCO;
  • Sri Keshav Desiraju, I.A.S., Joint Secretary (UNESCO), Ministry of HRD, GoI, joined the Board in the beginning of 2006.
  • Late Prof. V. Madhusudan Reddy, Chairman of the Institute of Future Studies;
  • Late Mrs. Shantadevi Malwad, writer;
  • Late Mr. Roger Anger (Chief Architect of Auroville);
  • Mrs. Aster Patel, resident member of Auroville;
  • Lt. Gen. (retd.) Ashok Chatterjee, resident member of Auroville.
  • Representatives of the Central Government have included
    • Mr. Sudeep Bannerjee;
    • Mr. S.R. Tayal;
    • Mr. Sudhir Nath.
  • Late Mr. Kireet Joshi (ex-chairman),former Registrar Sri Aurobindo International Centre of Education, Chairman Indian Council for Philosophical Research;
  • Dr. D.P. Chattopadhyaya, Chairman Centre of Studies of Civilisations, and former Union Cabinet Minister;
  • Late Dr. L.M. Singhvi, MP, eminent jurist and member of Indian Parliament, former Indian High Commissioner in the UK;
  • Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap, former Secretary General, Loksabha;
  • Shri V.K. Pipersenia, IAS, Joint Secretary & Financial Adviser, Dept of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development;
  • Shri C. Balakrishnan, IAS, Joint Secretary, (Planning & UNESCO) Dept of Secondary Education and Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development;
  • Mrs. Jyothi Madhok;
  • Late Prof. Meera Srivastava.
  • Last updated: Sep 10, 2016

    Story image for Sri Aurobindo from All India Roundup

    Check Out This Amazing Place In India Where There Is NO Politics ...

    All India Roundup-29-Sep-2016
    This unique town is situated in Viluppuram district which is near Puducherry and is developed on the notion of Sri Aurobindo, “man is a transitional being”.

    Story image for Sri Aurobindo from The Better India (blog)

    This Architect Has Mastered the Use of Sustainable & Eco-Friendly ...

    The Better India (blog)-28-Sep-2016
    Trupti started working on the Sharanam Rural Development Centre along with architect Jateen Lad, the Chief Co-Architect at Sri Aurobindo Society, the NGO ...

    Story image for Sri Aurobindo from Inhabitat

    The galaxy-shaped Indian utopia built on principles of no money or ...

    Inspired by her relationship with Indian guru and philosopher Sri Aurobindo, Alfassa built Auroville based on a charter that includes four ideals, chief of which ...

    Story image for Sri Aurobindo from Swarajya

    Scientific Studies Are Shrinking The Gaps Between Plants, Animals ...

    Sri Aurobindo's spiritual collaborator was Mother— Mira Alfasa— a Sephardi Jew and initially a disciple of Max Théon (1848–1927), a Polish Jew and Kabbalist ...

    Story image for Sri Aurobindo from

    Why Trupti Doshi ditched mainstream construction to build an ...
    ... meant to be the headquarters of a larger village empowerment programme of Sri Aurobindo Society, an international NGO. Sharanam has been an extremely ...

    Story image for auroville from BoldSky

    A Town Where No Politics, Corruption Or Religion Is Followed

    ... is peace that people have by being burden free. Check out this write-up on the interesting town named Auroville, which is also called "The City Of Dawn".

    Story image for auroville from The Hindu

    Auroville youth celebrate the spirit of generosity

    The Hindu-31-Aug-2016
    The youth in Auroville recently got around to rediscovering the simple, yet profound, act of giving and receiving gifts as they celebrated ...

    Story image for auroville from The Hindu

    5000 women to come together as Auroville fest draws to close

    The Hindu-9 hours ago
    It's going to be all about the multiple causes of women, from emancipation to empowerment as Auroville plans a fitting finale to the Annual ... The culmination of the 20th edition of the annual women’s festival is scheduled on October 2 under the auspices of the 

    Savitri Era of those who adore, Om Sri Aurobindo & The Mother.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment